top of page

The Gospel of Amazement


Studying from Michael Card's book, "Luke, The Gospel of Amazement", it dawned on me how, even now, I can be lackadaisical about remaining amazed!

How can this be? How could I possibly NOT continuously be amazed with the Gospel? With Jesus? With Our Heavenly Father??! Have I grown so complacent within God's grace, mercy, forgiveness, and His mere presence, that I take Him for granted?! Surely not I !! Yes....I.

Michael Card writes: "There are five Greek words that can be translated "amazed" and only Luke uses every one of them. Sometimes he uses two different words in the same sentence (Lk5:26)!

thaumazo: "amazed," "marvel," "wonder," "astonished" (Lk 1:63; 2:18; 4:22; 7:9; 9:43; 11:14; 20:26)

elplesso: "astonished," "astounded," "spellbound" (Lk 2:48; 4:32; 5:26; 9:43)

ekstasis: "amazement," "trance" (Lk 5:26)

thambos: "astonishment" (Lk 4:36; 5:9, this appears only in Luke)

existemi: "amazed" (Lk 2:47, 8:56; 24:22)"

Michael Card continues with "If we truly engage with the text of Luke, I hope that we will rediscover a sense of wonder and amazement at this remarkable, mysterious, amazing person called Jesus."

Therefore, I am challenging myself, and others, even you, to rediscover Jesus! Keep Him in the forefront of your mind and in the very essence of your heart! See Him in every magnificent sunset, glorious mountaintop, majestic wave, beautiful flower, and living creature. Be amazed at His continuous grace, mercy, and forgiveness! Glorify Him with your words and your actions, in your treatment of others, even in the treatment of your self, your temple! (I Cor. 6:19-20).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page